ClearOS Bug Tracker


View Issue Details Jump to Notes ] Issue History ] Print ]
IDProjectCategoryView StatusDate SubmittedLast Update
0020201ClearOSapp-samba - Windows Networkingpublic2018-05-21 07:372018-05-21 07:37
ReporterNickH 
Assigned To 
PrioritynormalSeverityminorReproducibilityalways
StatusnewResolutionopen 
PlatformOSOS Version
Product Version7.4.0 
Target VersionFixed in Version 
Summary0020201: Deleting a Computer from the Webconfig means Computer can no longer be re-added to Webconfig
DescriptionIf you delete a Domain computer from the Windows Networking webconfig while it is still a Domain Member, it means that, even if it rejoins the domain, it will no longer show in the Webconfig.

This could be the scenario if one of your computers goes missing and you want to delete it from the Domain. If you then find it, you can re-add it but it will never show in the webconfig.

It appears that the computer is deleted in LDAP by the webconfig and "pdbedit -L" comes up with nothing for the computer. In this state, when you re-join the Domain, Windows Networking does not show the computer although "pdbedit -L" does. If you subsequently leave the domain, "pdbedit -L" shows the computer with an id of and "pdbedit -Lv" shows something like:

Unix username: BLACK$
NT username: BLACK$
Account Flags: [W ]
User SID: S-1-5-21-3307318640-3208748685-2086284823-20000003
Failed to find a Unix account for BLACK$
Primary Group SID: (NULL SID)
Full Name: BLACK$
Home Directory: \\myserver\black_
HomeDir Drive: U:
Logon Script: logon.cmd
Profile Path:
Domain: CLEARSYSTEM
Account desc:
Workstations:
Munged dial:
Logon time: 0
Logoff time: never
Kickoff time: never
Password last set: Mon, 21 May 2018 14:03:05 BST
Password can change: Mon, 21 May 2018 14:03:05 BST
Password must change: never
Last bad password : 0
Bad password count : 0
Logon hours : FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF

Note the two lines:
Failed to find a Unix account for BLACK$
Primary Group SID: (NULL SID)

At this point the only way to recover is to do a "pdbedit -x BLACK$" which will allow you to rejoin.

It may be that the delete operation should be a "pdbedit -x" operation rather than an LDAP operation.
TagsNo tags attached.
Attached Files

- Relationships

-  Notes
There are no notes attached to this issue.

- Issue History
Date Modified Username Field Change
2018-05-21 07:37 NickH New Issue